Fauna and flora

Fauna :

Animals of the Isalo are typical of the climate, the vegetation and the geomorphology of the Park. These are, for a very large majority, endemic species. 77 species of birds live in Isalo including Robin of Benson or Pseudocosyphus bensoni, an endemic species of Madagascar that is highly protected. There is also 14 species of diurnal and nocturnal including lemurs 8 introduced and 7 endemic to Madagascar. Reptiles, amphibians, carnivores, Insectivores and rodents complete the list.

1. Boophis albilabris occidentalis, an endemic frog of the Isalo and the Park of Bemaraha(Tsingy of Bemaraha). In the Isalo, It is found in the vicinity of the cascade of the nymphs in the rainy season.

2. The Boa of Dumeril, its scientific name : Acrantophis dumerili. This snake lives only in the South and the South West of Madagascar, and unusually in Andranolava, not far from Mahajanga. In the Isalo, you will find this boa in the Namaza circuit in rainy season.

3. The Blackbird of Benson or Pseudocossyphus bensoni. It is a particularly protected endemic bird. Its distribution is very limited and most of its population is limited to the Isalo.

4. The Angogo or duck humpback, known to scientists by Sarkidiornis melanotos.

5. Madagascar Crested Ibis or Ankohoala. Its scientific name is Lophotibis cristata. It is a threatened species.

6. The Red frog or Scaphiophryne gottlebei which is endemic also.

7. The Varika, a South and South West of the island endemic lemur known under the scientific name Lemur catta and Propithecus verreauxii, microcebus murinus, mirza coquereli, Lepilemur ruficaudatus, eulemur fulvus rufus.

Flora :

Flore pachypodium

National park Isalo counts more of 400 plant species. Many of them are endemic to Madagascar as Pachypodium rosulatum, family Apocynaceae, Catharantus ovalis, which is a medicinal plant that found anywhere elsewhere in the world. The Savannah of the Isalo is colonized by typical Palm trees of this region : Bismarckia nobilis, "Satrana" which resists fire.

The best of the fauna of Isalo

1. The Vontaka or Pachypodium rosulatum of the Apocynaceae family. Endemic to Madagascar, the Vontaka lives on the rocks of the circuit of the natural swimming pool all year round.

2. Aloe isaloensis of the Aloaceae family is a Malagasy endemic Aloe. It grows on the rocks of the natural swimming pool all year round.

3. Bismarckia nobilis, of its Malagasy name Satrana. It is a typical Palm of the Isalo that has the particularity to resist fire. Its branches are used by the villagers for plaiting, industry of alfa, a hard vegetable fiber.

Share

Faune et Flore

Faune :

Les animaux de l’Isalo sont typiques du climat, de la végétation et de la géomorphologie du parc. Ce sont, pour une très forte majorité, des espèces endémiques. 77 espèces d’oiseaux vivent à Isalo dont le merle de Benson ou Pseudocosyphus bensoni, une espèce endémique de Madagascar qui est très protégée. On y trouve aussi 14 espèces de lémuriens diurnes et nocturnes dont 8 introduites et 7 endémiques de Madagascar. Reptiles, amphibiens, carnivores, insectivores et rongeurs complètent la liste.

1. Le Boophis albilabris occidentalis, une grenouille endémique de l’Isalo et du parc de Bemaraha(Tsingy du Bemaraha). Dans l’Isalo, on la trouve aux abords de la cascade des nymphes en saison des pluies.

2. Le Boa de Dumeril, de son nom scientifique : Acrantophis dumerili. Ce serpent ne vit que dans le Sud et le Sud Ouest de Madagascar, et exceptionnellement à Andranolava, non loin de Mahajanga. Dans l’Isalo, vous trouverez ce boa dans le circuit Namaza en saison des pluies.

3. Le merle de Benson ou Pseudocossyphus bensoni. C’est un oiseau endémique particulièrement protégé. Sa distribution est très restreinte et la plupart de sa population est limitée à l’Isalo.

4. L’Angogo ou canard à bosse, connu des scientifiques par Sarkidiornis melanotos.

5. L’Ibis huppé de Madagascar ou Ankohoala. Son nom scientifique est Lophotibis cristata. C’est une espèce menacée.

6. La grenouille rouge ou Scaphiophryne gottlebei qui est endémique également.

7. Le Varika, un lémurien endémique du Sud et du Sud Ouest de l’île connu sous le nom scientifique Lemur catta ainsi que le Propithecus verreauxii, le microcebus murinus, le mirza coquereli, le Lépilémur ruficaudatus, l’eulemur fulvus rufus.

Flore :

Flore pachypodium

Le parc national Isalo compte plus de 400 espèces floristiques. Beaucoup d’entre elles sont endémiques de Madagascar comme le Pachypodium rosulatum, famille des Apocynaceae, le Catharantus ovalis qui est une plante médicinale que l’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs dans le monde. La savane de l’Isalo est colonisée par des palmiers typiques de cette région : le Bismarkia nobilis, « Satrana » qui résiste au feu.

Le meilleur de la flore de l’Isalo

1. Le Vontaka ou Pachypodium rosulatum de la famille des Apocynaceae. Endémique de Madagascar, le Vontaka vit sur les rochers du circuit de la Piscine naturelle toute l’année.

2. L’Aloes isaloensis de la famille des Aloaceae est un aloès endémique malgache. Il pousse sur les rochers de la piscine naturelle toute l’année.

3. Le Bismarkia nobilis, de son nom malgache Satrana. C’est un palmier typique de l’Isalo qui a la particularité de résister au feu. Ses branches sont utilisées par les villageois en sparterie, industrie de l’alfa, une fibre végétale dure.

Share